Anti-doping center

Structure of the Prohibited List

The Prohibited List is divided into three main categories:

• Substances and methods prohibited at all times (in- and out-of-competition)

• Substances and methods prohibited in-competition

• Substances prohibited in particular sports

Based on their chemical structure and biological effect, the substances (S) included in each of these categories are divided into the following classes:

S0. Non-approved substances

S1. Anabolic agents

S2. Peptide hormones, growth factors and related substances

S3. Beta-2 agonists

S4. Hormone and metabolic modulators

S5. Diuretics and other masking agents

S6. Stimulants

S7. Narcotics

S8. Cannabinoids

S9. Glucocorticosteroids

The methods (M) on the Prohibited List are divided into three classes:

M1. Manipulation of blood and blood components

M2. Chemical and physical manipulation

M3. Gene doping

All methods on the Prohibited List are prohibited at all times (i.e. both in- and out-of competition).

Alcohol and beta-blockers are prohibited only in particular sports.

What is the Prohibited List?

What is a ‘specified substance’?

Important to every athlete